Home / Company / Management / Scientific Advisors

Scientific Advisors

Nicholas Colella, PhD.
Dr. Colella is the Chairman of the Discoveries Advisory Board at Intermolecular.  He served as the senior vice president of Customer Programs at Intermolecular, and he was a Partner at Incubic as well as advisor to MBio Diagnostics, Aurrion, and ThinGap. He held senior executive roles at Tessera from 2001-2006, including their IPO in 2003, and was part of the executive team driving market cap above $2 billion in 2005-2006. Prior to Tessera, he was the CTO of PolyStor Corporation, a lithium-ion cell developer and manufacturer. He was CTO and Executive Vice President of Angel Technologies Corporation, a broadband wireless communications company. While at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, he led missile defense programs, and co-founded nChip, Inc., a multi-chip module company. He has served on the boards of Grandis, Inc., a spintronics company, Ultracell Corporation, a portable fuel cell developer, on the Science Advisory Board of Zyvex  Corporation, an early nanotechnologies venture, and served as Corporate Advisor to Greystripe. He co-founded the National Robotics Engineering Center at Carnegie Mellon, and served on its Advisory Board.
Nick holds a B.A. in Honors Physics from Temple and is an Alumni Fellow. He holds a M.S. and Ph.D. in Physics from Carnegie Mellon.

Yoshio Nishi, Ph.D.
Yoshio Nishi has been professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University since 2002, and serves as director of research at The Center for Integrated Systems and director of Stanford Site at NNIN. With a Ph.D. in electronics engineering from the University of Tokyo, Dr. Nishi has worked at the senior level with Toshiba R&D for VLSI memory technology and Si-SiO2 interface physics, Hewlett-Packard Laboratories ULSI Research Lab, and Texas Instruments, Inc. R&D. He has contributed to more than 250 publications, co-authored/edited 11 books, and been responsible for over 70 Japan and U.S. patents. A fellow of IEEE, a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, and The Electrochemical Society, he has received numerous awards over the past 15 years.

J. George Shanthikumar, Ph.D.
Dr. Shanthikumar is professor of industrial engineering and operations research at the University of California, Berkeley. He has authored or coauthored more than 250 papers and has coauthored three books, “Stochastic Models of Manufacturing Systems,” “Stochastic Orders And Their Applications” and “Stochastic Orders.” He is a co-editor of Flexible Services and Manufacturing Journal, and has served on numerous technical journal editorial boards. As a consultant for KLA-Tencor Corp., he worked on joint development projects with AMD, IBM, Intel, LSI, Motorola, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, Fujitsu, TSMC and UMC. He received a B.S. in mechanical engineering from the University of Sri Lanka, and an M.S. and Ph.D. in industrial engineering from the University of Toronto.

Henry Weinberg, Ph.D.
Dr. Weinberg is an award-winning scientist and advisor to start-ups and venture firms in the chemical space. He currently serves as general editor of the prestigious review journal Surface Science Reports. Previously, he was chief technical officer at Draths Corporation and chief technology officer at Symyx (and their 2nd employee). For more than 24 years, he was on the faculty of both the California Institute of Technology and the University of California, Santa Barbara. Dr. Weinberg was also principal investigator in the US-USSR Exchange Program in Chemical Catalysis between 1974 and 1980, and has served on many review panels for industrial, academic, and governmental organizations. He holds a B.S. degree in chemical engineering from the University of South Carolina, and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Krishna Saraswat, Ph.D.
Krishna Saraswat is Rickey/Nielsen Chair Professor of Electrical Engineering and by courtesy Professor of Materials Science & Engineering at Stanford University. His research interests are in new and innovative materials, structures, and process technology of silicon, germanium and III-V devices and interconnects for VLSI, nanoelectronics and solar cells. He has graduated more than 75 doctoral students and has authored or co-authored over 700 technical papers. A Life Fellow of the IEEE, he has received numerous awards, including the Thomas Callinan Award from The Electrochemical Society in 2000, IEEE Andrew Grove Award in 2004 and the researcher of the year from SIA in 2012. He is listed by ISI as one of Highly Cited Authors in his field. He serves on the boards of several companies. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.

Sayeef Salahuddin, Ph.D.
Sayeef Salahuddin is an assistant professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at University of California, Berkeley, where he joined after receiving a PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Purdue University. His group has done extensive work in energy efficient electronic devices focusing on logic and memory applications, combining research of new materials and device design with rigorous and atomistic modeling. He received the Kintarul Haque Gold Medal from BUET in 2003, a MARCO/FCRP Inventor Recognition Award in 2007, a UC Regents Junior Faculty Fellowship in 2009, a Hellman Faculty Fellowship in 2010, a DOE NISE award in 2010, the NSF CAREER award in 2011, the IEEE Nanotechnology Early Career Award in 2012 and AFOSR Young Investigator Award in 2013.